2022 Branch Meetings 

The following branch meetings have been confirmed for 2022. We hope to get together in person this year for three branch meetings with different themes and focuses. The first meeting in March and will be our Northern Branch Meeting rescheduled from the end of 2021. The event will be held in Taukau and will feature a fantastic line up of speakers. In May, we will be visiting new fish-friendly Archimedes screw pumps! Get in touch to find out more or register today!

Friday 11 March
  • Host – Waikato District Council
  • Type – Day time mini-conference
  • Name - IPWEA NZ Northern Branch Meeting

Friday 20 May
  • Host – Waikato Regional Council
  • Type – site tour
  • Name - New fish friendly Archimedes screw pumps

October 2022
  • Host – Morphum Environmental
  • Type – evening function
  • Theme – TBD

Sustainability Session 12th August 2021 - A great success

We had a successful sustainability themed evening session in Auckland on 12 August 2021, with two guest speakers - Auckland Transport’s Chief Engineer Murry Burt, and Kāinga Ora’s Sustainability Director Alec Tang.  It was generously hosted by Pattle Delamore Partners (pdp) at their Newmarket offices. 

The evening session kick started with a Mihi Whakatau by Troy Brockbank, Pou Ārahi Māori, pdp.  The two thought leaders were engaging and gave their views for their large infrastructure organisations on meeting the challenge to be zero carbon in Auckland.  In keeping with empowering our youth and bringing on the next generation into the industry, Young IPWEAN Jason Roberts (Fletcher Building) introduced our guest speakers.  There were enthusiastic discussions during the networking afterwards. 

The evening was also an opportunity for IPWEA NZ’s new Membership Engagement Manager, Emily Liddell, to outline her new role as this was her first branch meeting.  She is looking to be more proactive with the members and in the regions as well as advocating meaningful conversations with public works engineers on sustainability. 

Key takeaways from the session were:

  • Murray Burt – Net zero 2050, zero carbon zero road deaths:
    • The impact of COVID proved behaviour change (not infrastructure) is the single most effective way to solve Auckland’s transport congestion challenges, reduce carbon emissions and reduce road deaths
    • The need to reduce carbon emissions from private and commercial vehicles (the most significant generator)
    • Lead by example - Auckland Transport’s executive team walk the talk by using public transport and cycle to work and moving to single car families
  • Alec Tang - Leading the Way for Tāmaki Makaurau -Cities are evolving:
    • We need to think about opportunities across a range of scales
    • All sectors must decarbonise
    • Initiatives include 6 Homestar built rating and Climate Related Financial Disclosures.

Archive (past meetings)

Presentations from 12 August 2021 (PDP Sustainability Sessions)

Presentations from 6 May 2021

Presentations from 3 March 2021 - online

There was a great turnout for our industry branch meeting on March 3. We had to think quick on Sunday morning in response to the Government’s latest lockdown restrictions, so we moved our Tokoroa meeting hosted by South Waikato District Council to an online virtual session by Monday lunchtime.

South Waikato - Space to Grow - Ben Smit, CE, South Waikato District Council
Deb’s Diversity Download -
Dr Deborah Lind, AECOM

IPWEA’s new CE - Murray Pugh (by Zoom)

New freedom camping infrastructure - Shaun Hamilton, GHD

New Tokoroa Refuse Transfer Station - Ejas Nazar, South Waikato District Council

Recovering from overflow events Lake Taupo - Ian Gray, WSP

Tokoroa Wastewater Treatment Plant Upgrade - Paul White, South Waikato DC

Industry update on Taumata Arowai - Bill Bayfield, Establishment CEO (by Zoom)

Presentations from 15 August 2019 - Waihi

Myles Lind (IPWEA NZ President & Programme Lead - Digital Engineering, NZTA - President's Update
Dr Deborah Lind (Harrison Grierson) - Diversity Download
Phillip Johansen (Auckland Council) - Learnings from Copenhagen Water NZ Stormwater Visit
Dawn Inglis (Rata Manager) - RATA - Benefits to transport Sector by working together
Peter Thom (Hauraki DC) - Kaiaua - Climate change & Working with the community
EJ Wentzel (Water services manager, Hauraki DC) - Who wants to be a billionaire?
$2 billion allocated to Wastewater - will we get the best environmental result from this spend
Adrian de Laborde (Hauraki DC) &Helen Ramsey (Morrison Low) - Solid Waste - China Impacts Challenges
Kelvin Hill (President, Water NZ) - Water NZ Update

Presentations from 24 May
James Hughes - Climate and Resilience Specialist - Tonkin + Taylor - Adapting Infrastructure to Climate Change
Dr Deborah Lind - Advisory Services, Harrison Grierson - Deb's Diversity Download
Photos from 24th May Branch meeting - click here

8 March 2019 - To
view the agenda - click here

Myles Lind - IPWEA NZ Vice-President, Welcome, branch update & election
David Ward - Watercare AMP - Demonstrating Value to our customers
Andrew Chin - Our Water future - a discussion document
Jane McCarroll - Skills NZ - Managing the Generational Gap
Jon Williams, Beca - BIM - Building Information Modelling
Tom Mansell - Auckland Council) Sustainable Outcomes
Myles Lind (NZTA) - Digital Engineering for Land Transport

15 March 2018 - view agenda here
16 November 2017
27 September 2017



IPWEA NZ's Northern Branch encompasses the following regional councils: Northland, Auckland, Waikato, and Bay of Plenty; as well as the area covered by the Ruapehu District Council, and the Taupo District Council.

Branch Chairperson
Cushla Anich, Director - Morrison Low

These meetings are a free mini-conference!  Share this learning opportunity with younger team members, and let's build the next generation of public works professionals.  Bring them along to meet new contacts and network, learn from expert speakers, and present at future sessions. 

Ideas + Suggestions?

If there is a topic you'd like to hear more on or to present on, please contact Cushla Anich Branch Chair on:

Feature presentations

Feature presentations of note are available on the links below.

12 August 2021 - Successful Sustainability Session

17 October 2020 - Climate Change Breakfast Panel Discussion
Cushla's Branch Chair - branch update Agenda - click here
Key themes and Actions - click here
Audio of the meeting - click here