Hynds Paper Of the Year

32nd Hynds Paper Award – 2021

The Hynds Paper Competition, kindly sponsored by Hynds Pipe Systems for 32 years now, is held at our annual conference. All IPWEA NZ members who had a paper accepted for presentation at the 2021 IPWEA NZ conference, are eligible to enter the 2021 Hynds Paper Award.  Judges select the three best papers for presentation at the conference. These three papers will be presented in the Hynds Pipe Systems Paper plenary session at 3:20pm on Tuesday September 7th, with the winner decided by audience vote.

The winner of the 2021 Hynds Pipe Systems Award and partner, will attend the 2021 IPWC conference (Adelaide 31 October – 4 Novmber 2021), to present the winning paper – all expenses paid. The prize for each of the 2 runners up is an Air New Zealand 2-day Deluxe Mystery Break for 2, or equivalent air travel.

2021 Hynds Paper Finalists

David Pattinson, Engineering Manager at McConnell Dowell - with his paper: Daldy Street Outfall
John Tetteroo, Principal Engineer at GHD Limited, co-presenting with Veenay Rambisheswar, Senior Manager, Auckland Transport - with their paper: Prioritising Road Water Quality Outcomes to Deliver Safe Waterways and Harbours
Rebekah Roberston, Disaster Risk and Resilience Specialist, copresenting with Alex Cartwright, Climate Change, Risk, & Emergency Management Consultant - both of Tonkin + Taylor, with their paper: How to communicate risk when it feels like no one is listening.

View the Hynds Paper Guidelines here.

PPT Format: please use 16:9 format.  Please use this slide template - mandatory for your introductory slide, thereafter optional but preferred. You must bring your presentation with you on a USB to download at the conference speaker prep desk well before your presentation.

IPWEA NZ Values and guiding principles
Please click here to download and read our 2021 Conference Values and Guiding Principles.  It is important that all presenters adhere to these.  Thank you.

Purpose of the Hynds Award
The purpose of the Hynds Paper is to encourage IPWEA NZ members to improve their presentation skills by presenting papers on asset management and engineering for infrastructure.

The winner of this award has the opportunity to present the winning paper at an IPWEA conference in Australia. The prize includes return airfares for two (ie winner and partner) , accommodation for the period of the conference, airport transfers and delegate and partner conference registration fees.

Our thanks go to Hynds Group for sponsoring this award annually since 1990.

Hynds Paper of the Year, 2020 - Winner
2020 Hynds Paper Winner - Chris Shanks
winning paper,
"Dynamic catchment risk assessment – innovative tools for water security decision-making".
Click here to download paper

Hynds Paper of the Year, 2019 - Winner
2019 Hynds Paper Winner - James Thorne

winning paper, "Intuitive Decision Making for Infrastructure Strategists".
Click here to download paper

Hynds Paper of the Year, 2018 - Winner
2018 Hynds Paper Winner - Irmana Garcia Sampedro
winning paper, "How to Plan for an Earthquake Event".
Click here to download paper

Hynds Paper of the Year, 2017 - Winner
2017 Hynds Paper Winner - David Langford

winning paper, "Blurring the lines with the New Plymouth District Council professional services collaborative contract".
Click here to download paper

Hynds Paper of the Year, 2016 - Winner
2016 Hynds Paper Winner - Carey Morris
Winning Paper: "Is Cheap Real Value". - Click here to download paper

Hynds Paper of the Year, 2015 - Winner
2015 Hynds Paper Winner - Chris Maguire
with the winning paper, "Standardising Standards and Creating Best Practice".
Click here to download paper

Hynds Paper of the Year, 2014 - Winner
2014 Hynds Paper Winner was Simon Bush with the winning paper, "Agent base modelling, a quiet revolution in asset management"
Click here to download paper

Hynds Paper of the Year 2013 - Winner
2013 Hynds paper Winner was Phil Cahill (Dunedin City Council) with the winning paper, "3 Waters and the Amis Programme"
Click here to download paper

Hynds Paper of the Year 2012 - Winner
The Winner of the 2012 Hynds paper
was Caroline Boot (PLan A) with the winning paper, "Value for Money Starts With Clever Buying"
Click here to download paper

Hynds Paper of the Year 2011- Winner
The Winner of the 2011 Hynds paper
was Joanna Orr (DOWNER) with the winning paper, "The Ruby Bay Bypass" 

Hynds Paper of the Year 2010 - Winner
The winner of the 2010 Hynds paper
was Mark Faulkner (OPUS International Consultants Ltd) with the winning paper, "Landslip Stabilisation - Turei Hill, Kawakawa Bay. Click here to download the paper.

Hynds Paper of the Year 2009 - Winner
The winner of the 2009 Hynds paper
was Andrew Washington Timaru District Council) with the winning paper, "An Alternative approach to managing waste water flows during rain events". Click here to download the paper.



2019 marked the 30th anniversary of the Hynds Award - that’s 90 people who have had the opportunity to improve their presentation skills, which was the purpose of the award when John Hynds established it all those years ago.

Hynds support is a significant contribution to the advancement of the Asset Management industry, thank you Hynds!