There are a number of IPWEA Awards presented during the conference for outstanding individual service, project excellence and best papers delivered at the conference.

These awards precisely embody the spirit and focus of IPWEA, supporting public works engineering professionals to reach their full potential for the good of their communities. The Awards recognise the dedication, commitment and talent that our members bring to the field of public works engineering.

Finalists will be celebrated throughout the conference and winners announced at the Komatsu Grand Platinum Dinner on Thursday 2 May 2024 held at the Melbourne Convention and Entertainment Centre.

Three Outstanding Individual Awards

Keith H Wood Medal

To recognise an outstanding Engineer in public works, who reflects the dedication and contribution to the industry and the Institute.

IPWEA Public Works Leadership Medal

To recognise the performance of an individual member for leadership in the delivery of public works excellence.

Young IPWEA Emerging Leader Award

The Young IPWEA Emerging Leader Award seeks to inspire excellence and dedication in public works by recognising the achievements and potential of young public works professionals.

Public Works Leader of the Year Steven White (left) with Chris Champion.

IPWEA Emerging Leader Carl Lundborg (left) with Ian Daniels.

Keith H Wood Medalist Maurice Stabb (right) with Ian Daniels.

Prestigious Best Papers Award

E J (Ted) Hooper Medal

Best Overall Paper for content & presentation.

Best Papers Awards

IPWEA Excellence Awards

The IPWEA Australasia Excellence Awards will be presented at the Conference Gala Dinner. This will showcase the best of the best from across Australia and New Zealand from 2022 / 2023.

Most IPWEA Divisions conduct excellence awards competitions at their State conferences to showcase excellence from the industry within their State or New Zealand. These awards are keenly sought and are highly prized. They provide recognition of excellence in public works infrastructure and showcase the diversity of projects, innovation within the industry and professionalism of those involved in managing these projects / services.

Finalist’s for the Australasia Excellence Awards must have entered and won their respective IPWEA Division Award.