Awards & Scholarships

Keith H Wood Medal

To recognise outstanding service to local government engineering and the IPWEA.

Winners of the Keith H Wood Medal in past years have been: 

2017      David Harris    WA Perth Conference 
2015 Paul Di Iulio SA Rotorua Conference
2013 Warren Roberts VIC Darwin Conference
2011  Gil Holmes QLD Canberra Conference
2009 Bob Seiffert VIC  Melbourne Conference 
2007 Frank Bryant WA Cairns Conference
2005 Ian Robins VIC Adelaide Conference
2003  Jack Riddiford TAS Hobart Conference
2001 Peter Way QLD Perth Conference
1999 Peter Taylor QLD  Sydney Conference
1997 Phil Hennessey QLD Melbourne Conference
1995 John Howard TAS Gold Coast Conference

This Medal is presented to recognise an outstanding Engineer in local government, who is a member of the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australia who has been responsible for: 

Active and significant service to Local Government through research, industry development, advocacy, education/training and best practice initiatives, and/or

Major Projects of exceptional merit from the viewpoint of scale, quality and innovation, and/or

Outstanding leadership to Local Government and Local Government engineering in terms of vision and sustained commitment, and

Significantly advancing the effectiveness of local government engineering in meeting the needs of the community into the future.

Recipients of the Keith H Wood Medal will demonstrate dedication and contribution to the industry and the Institute that is worthy of commendation and reflective of the significance and prestige of the Keith H Wood Medal.

The Award is made by the Municipal Engineering Foundation in honour of Keith H Wood AM who helped establish the Australian Local Government Engineer's Association which became the Institute of Municipal Engineering Australia, now called the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australia (IPWEA).

Members of IPWEA who have made outstanding contributions towards the progress and improvement of local government engineering and the profession are eligible for the Award. Eligibility does not preclude an engineer now acting as a Chief Executive Officer or who has retired from practice.

Nominations shall be made by a member or State Divisions of the Institute who will provide a comprehensive curriculum vitae of the applicant supported by written evidence fully setting out the reasons why the nominee is being put forward. The written evidence will be aligned to the Medal Criteria. Names and addresses of three members able to support the nomination should also be included.

Nominations should be in sufficient detail to ensure that the Selection Committee can assess the suitability of the nominee. Nominations shall be lodged with the IPWEA National Office prior to 30 June each National Conference year on Level 12, 447 Kent Street, Sydney 2000. 

National Public Works Medals

To recognise excellence in leadership and the design and/or construction of a public works (formerly local government engineering) project.

National Public Works Medals introduced in 2009 to replace the National Local Government Engineering Medal

2017   Public Works Leader of the Year       Vicki Shelton, City of Greater Geelong
   Public Works Project of the Year City of Gosnells, Mills Park Redevelopment
2015 Public Works Leader of the Year Anne-Maree Burke

2013 Public Works Leader of the Year Greg McDonald, Wyong Shire Council
Public Works Project of the Year Lockyer Vally Regional Council, Strengthening Grantham
2011 Public Works Leader of the Year Warren Sharpe, Eurobodalla Shire Council, NSW
Public Works Project of the Year Wide Bay Water, WetSide Water Education Park
2009   Public Works Leader of the Year Maurice Stabb, Wyndham City Council 
 Public Works Project of the Year Logan City Council, Enterprise Park & Berrinba Wetlands

Past winners of the National Public Works Medal (formerly Local Government Engineering Medal) have been:

2007  LG Eng'g Medal     Murray Thompson, Port Macquarie Hastings Council
Reclaimed Water Reuse in Port Macquarie

2005  LG Eng'g Medal John Hawkes, Cairns City Council
Cairns Esplanade Redevelopment

2003  LG Eng'g Medal Anthony Reed, Ryde City Council
West Ryde Drainage Tunnel

2001 Highly Comm'd Allan Claydon, City of Mandurah
Strategic Alliance for Waste Management

Highly Comm'd Craig Cinquegrana, Mornington Peninsula
Serpentine Wetlands

1999  LG Eng'g Medal David Rienecker
Wetalla Wastewater Treatment Plant St.4

1997  LG Eng'g Medal Ian Campbell
Corfield Street Road and Bridge Project

1995  LG Eng'g Medal Ronald Copeland
Karratha Auroirt B737 Upgrade

1993  LG Eng'g Medal David Andrews
Timber Bridge Suspended Scaffold Syst'm

1991  LG Eng'g Medal Kenneth Hose
Margaret Street Pumping Station

1989  LG Eng'g Medal  Ray Trestrail
     North Albury Sewage Pump Station

The Institute of Public Works Engineering Australia, on behalf of the IEAust invite nominations for the Local Government Engineering Medal each two years to be awarded at the IPWEA National Conference.

The award is available to engineers who are members of the Institution of Engineers Australia and the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australia. They must have been responsible for the design and/or construction of a local government engineering project completed in the two (2) year period prior to the closing date for nominations of 30 March of each National Conference year.

The winning person or project receives an engraved bronze medal. For the National Public Works Medal for Public Works Project of the Year a certificate is also presented to the client organisation, contractor and consultant associated with the winning project.

Conditions of the award and nominations forms are available from IPWEA State Divisions. Nominations are to be submitted to IPWEA State Divisions by 30 March of each National Conference year.  

E. J. (Ted) Hooper Medal

To recognise the Best Paper presented at the bi-annual National Conference.



Presented by: Priyani di Silva-Currie Co-Author: Samantha Almeida



Samantha Krull and Saurabh Chandra



Graham Scott



Russell Bourke



Nicholas Zembillas



Phil Edwards



Dr Wayne Stewart



Tom Yelland & Joseph Reginold



Stuart McAll



Chris Champion



Geoffrey Hunter



Glyn Davies






John Howard



National AM Award - The NAMie 

To recognise the Best Asset Management Paper presented at the bi-annual National Conference.



Ben Clark, City of Tea Tree Gully, SA 'Managing Assets Through Capability and Knowledge (MACK)'



John Halsall, Network Rail, UK
'Transforming our approach to the management of civil assets: Network Rail's Story



Mick Raby, Fairfield City Council, NSW 'A Works Guy's Thoughts on Asset Management Theory & Practice'



Dr Ian Greenwood, OPUS International, NZ 'Using a Framework to Improve Asset management Outcomes'



Craig Young, Sunshine Coast Regional Council, QLD 'Developing Asset Management Plans in-House'

Criteria are best demonstration of significant contribution to advancing AM in an organisation and scope to be applied in other organisations.